Skiing in the Clouds

This was a long awaited trip! A ski trip to Les Menuires in Savoie, France. We had a beautiful ski chalet between the 6 of us for a week; which means delicious cooked meals, hot tub and sauna time post skiing, board game and card game nights; just a whole lot of fun!

Our group was one of very mixed skiing abilities. I started skiing when I was 9 years old and it was actually really difficult trying to teach a complete beginner. It brought back memories of one of my first ski instructors telling me to make a pizza with my skis (the snowplough for those of you who didn’t get it). Now, I get such an adrenaline rush speeding down the slopes, feeling the cold air on the face and the burn in my thighs.

I’ve been lucky enough to have been able to go on annual ski trips for the last few years, and yet there’s still something about mountains that takes my breath away. The latter part of the week was overcast, maybe a blessing in disguise, because thick clouds make amazing views when you see them from above! It took me 2 hours to get to the highest accessible peak of the 3 valleys – Sommet des 3 Vallees at 3230m. When I got there, all I wanted to do was sit and absorb my surroundings.

lesmenuires4

Black run on the way to Sommet des 3 Vallees

lesmenuires2

Halfway down..

lesmenuires3

About to ski into a cloud!

Skiing in the clouds.. literally.

lesmenuires1

MAR 2015

Suitcase Bunny x

Leave a Reply

