The Changing Face of the Eiffel Tower

I’ve been to Paris a few times before, and my memories of it haven’t been too exciting. However, I was craving to get away and decided to go for a weekend because of its proximity. I was pleasantly surprised.

Before that weekend, I would have said that Paris is overrated, not very friendly and just underwhelming. Is it because I’m older now? Maybe I’m able to appreciate the finer things – so I like to think. I’ve been up the Eiffel Tower before and so we didn’t go this time. However, I liked even admiring it from a distance. We went in the evening, so we saw the Eiffel in the light of the sunset and in the nighttime when it lights up. Maybe it’s because I’ve grown to like simplicity; I’m just easily pleased nowadays?

I never actually knew or cared what the Eiffel Tower was. It’s some iron thing in the middle of France. It was built as the entrance arch for the World’s Fair in 1889, to mark the 100-year anniversary of the French Revolution. Now I know. Isn’t it strange how something can remain unchanged, but your views on it change.

paris3

Travelling is about the emotions that come with it. You remember a place because of how it makes you feel. I remember it was quite cold that evening, and I was getting hungry because it was almost dinner time. Maybe it was the company? I love my mum.


Have you had any similar experiences? Visiting the same place twice and feeling completely different about it?

paris2

OCT 2013

Suitcase Bunny x

Leave a Reply

